Are You Ready To Fight?

Standard
Laila Ali

The lovely Laila Ali

 

Are you ready to fight for what you really want? I know I am. However, I can’t keep using the same old blueprint that’s yielding me zero, zilch, nada results.  Looking back is advised when you need to re-evaluate what didn’t work and what probably won’t work now.  For example, I need to lose 25 lbs. and while I could go on a crash diet, I know in the past that simply doesn’t work in the long run.  I needed to evaluate what worked in the past and go back to that.  So I decided to go back to Medical Weight Loss and equip myself with points of accountability.  It’s one thing to be self-motivated but it’s another thing to make yourself accountable to someone which is what I needed.

After too many handfuls of peanut M&Ms, the scale was not showing a number I was happy with and I needed to do something fast. I talk about “Embracing the New Normal” in my book “Fit and Fab for Life.” Somehow, my normal that enabled me to lose 60 lbs seven years ago got lost by the wayside.  An erratic work schedule, bouts of unemployment, and boredom got the best of my fitness goals this past year but I was not satisfied staying there.  I promised myself that I was not going to fat and frumpy in my latter years.  So here’s what I did to get back on track.

  • I started weighing myself everyday.  I do this every morning before heading to the gym and I also stop by the clinic every day.  After this week, I will be only required to stop in three times a week and that’s OK because the accountability is what I need to be successful.

 

  • I started working out at the gym.  I’m a morning person and I prefer gyms to group classes.  Know your personality.  I don’t like being restricted by other’s schedules and when they’re teaching.  It doesn’t mean I will never take a Zumba class, kickboxing class or whatever else I might fancy, it’s just right now, this is doable.  I’ve committed to morning workouts which means I have to get up at 4:30 AM to be at the gym by 5:00 AM.  Once I’m back home, I shower, fix my lunch and head out the door.  I have a friend who has expressed interest in working out with me so we’ll see next week how that can be potentially helpful it can be to both of us.

 

  • I swore off peanut M&Ms.  Every day I walk past them at work and ignore every color in the rainbow.  It’s been almost two weeks now and truthfully I’m more committed to where I want to be versus a temporary fix.  The great thing is I’m armed with treats that take care of my sweet tooth so I’m good there.

 

  • I journal my food.  This is one of my least favorite tasks but this works wonders as it’ done in the past.  This will be especially important this weekend as I have a celebration of some sort for the next four days.  Can you say “Help?”

 

  • I forgave myself for messing up.  Yes, me the author of a fitness book whose principles actually work.  Staying stuck back at yesterday with my mistakes does not serve me well so I choose not to continually focus on what I could have done differently.  A positive mentality is necessary for success in any area of your life?

 

  • Re-reading “Fit & Fab for Life” by Francyne Walker.  As I said before, the principles work and it’s unproductive to reinvent the wheel.  I always have people suggesting ways others have lost weight and that’s great that they found something that works for them.  At the end of the day, you have to do what works for you and stick with it.  Starting something and trying it on for a microwave minute will not get you where you want to be.

These are just a few basic things I did to get back on track because my health is worth fighting for and yours should be too.  What’s holding you back from reaching your health and wellness goals? This scripture came to me this morning .  Psalm 46:5 – God is within her, she will not fall.  Maybe, I can help when you’re ready to fight.  Until next time. Ciao!

 

Leave a Reply

